White Texas Sheet Cake with Chocolate Fudge Frosting

We had some friends over for dinner this past weekend. We cooked Italian food. When our family cooks Italian food we go all out. We made Focaccia al Formaggio (cheese bread), Limoncello Pasta and White Texas Sheet Cake with Chocolate Fudge Frosting. Since it’s always good and we always want to have dessert first, I thought I’d share the White Texas Sheet Cake with Chocolate Fudge Frosting with you first. I’ll share the rest of the meal with you this week. Good things come to those who wait. 🙂

Just the other day my husband told me he wants me to find a great recipe for cake. And I believe I’ve found it! It was a hit this weekend. I’m sad I didn’t make it at the beginning of the weekend, so I’d have longer to enjoy it before Monday. But sadly Monday is here and I need to ignore it calling my name from the kitchen. The yummy, fluffiness of the white cake mixed with the chocolate fudge frosting. . . hmm delicious. The recipe has almond extract and next time I make it, I think I’d put half the amount required. it was a little too powerful in my opinion. I’d also make a little less of the frosting, it was too rich for me. This cake is easy to make but you defiantly can not be interrupted while making it. Enjoy!! Pictures and recipe courtesy of Tasty Kitchen. See this recipe pose on Tasty Kitchen’s website. 

texascake2-1-of-1-1-410x615

Ingredients:

  • FOR THE CAKE:
  • 1 cup Milk
  • 1 cup Butter, Cubed
  • 2 cups Flour
  • 2 cups Sugar
  • 2 whole Eggs, Beaten
  • ½ cups Sour Cream
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Almond Extract
  • ÂĽ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • FOR THE FROSTING:
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • ½ cups Unsweetened Cocoa, Sifted
  • ½ cups Milk
  • 4 Tablespoons Butter
  • 2 Tablespoons Light Corn Syrup
  • 4 cups Powdered Sugar, Sifted
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease or spray a 9X13 rectangular baking dish and set aside.

In a small saucepan over medium heat, add the milk and bring to slight boil. Once the milk has been brought to a boil, add the cubed butter. Stir with a rubber spatula until butter has completely melted. Then remove pan from heat and set aside.

In a large bowl, add the flour, sugar and eggs and mix to combine. Then slowly pour in the warm milk liquid while beating the mixture. Make sure you pour it in very slowly so the eggs don’t turn into scrambled eggs. Once the milk has been added, the mixture should be smooth. Then add the sour cream, salt, baking powder, almond extract, and baking soda.

Once the mixture is well blended pour it into the baking dish and smooth the top. Place pan in the oven. Bake for 30 minutes, but start the frosting about 20 minutes in.

For the frosting: In a large saucepan on medium high heat, whisk together the sugar and cocoa powder. Then whisk in the milk, butter, and corn syrup. Continue to stir until all ingredients are well blended. Remove pan from heat. Slowly add in the powdered sugar one cup at a time stirring after each addition. Once all the powdered sugar is added, add the vanilla extract and mix to combine.

As soon as the cake comes out of the oven, pour the frosting on top. Allow the cake to cool and the frosting to completely set before serving.

Leave a Reply

