Trying to Understand Things in This Life

My friend told me she lost her pregnancy. This will be her third miscarriage. Heartache filled my senses, then its quickly accompanied by anger, confusion. Why this keeps happening to her fills my head. She would make a great mom. And even though I know those babies are in heaven with Jesus-the safest place possible-hurt and anger fill my heart. As Christians, everyone else may think we have it all together. When heartache comes and we give cliché answers to handle it-you think we don’t feel. That maybe we don’t doubt God’s plans for us. Let me tell you we do-and anyone who says otherwise is full of it. I don’t know if it’s because she’s my friend or what but the news of her 3rd miscarriage has hit close to home. I felt it rock me this morning. I didn’t want to be angry with God, I felt tears fill my eyes as I thought those very words. I even said-why Lord? why do you keep taking her babies? Those words left a bitter taste in my mouth. I felt shame. I know despite this and even through this-He has a plan for my dear friend. Maybe she’s called for adoption-but why she still has to suffer makes no sense to me. As I put Sweet Baby down for a nap I thought about watching tv but with these feelings I knew I needed to be in His presence. I needed to feel the comfort of His word more than my next breathe. Those moments with Jesus were healing. As Jon Courson says, “Do you realize how blessed we are because we know the end of the story? you may be facing tribulation but we know one day it will all be solved. Understand that everything that plagues you presently will be gone in a heartbeat; that your going to heaven, where everything will be wonderful forever and ever? … The forces against you are soon going to be done away with.” I found some verses to share. These verses don’t change the heartache or the fact that my friend lost her babies-but it heals us. We have faith and we know that in the end we will be in heaven with Jesus. As C.S. Lewis said, “Has this world been so kind to you that you should leave with regret? There are better things ahead than any we leave behind.” All this heartache this side of heaven won’t matter when we are in heaven. This world is a temporary thing. Jesus is eternal. Thank you Lord.Mother's Day Card

“Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,’ says the Lord. ‘For as the heavens are than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8,9

“My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

“Have mercy on me, O Lord, for I am weak; O Lord, heal me, for my bones are troubled. My soul also is greatly troubled; But you, O Lord-how long? Return, O Lord, deliver me! Oh, save me for Your mercies’ sake! .. I am weary with my groaning; All night I make my bed swim; I drench my couch with my tears. My eye wastes away because of grief; It grows old because of all my enemies. Depart from me, all you workers of iniquity; For the Lord has heard the voice of my weeping. The Lord has heard my supplication; The Lord will receive my prayer.” Psalm 6:2-4, 6-9

“Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.” Psalm 27:1

“The LORD also will be a stronghold for the oppressed, A stronghold in times of trouble, And those who know Thy name will put their trust in Thee; For Thou, O LORD, hast not forsaken those who seek Thee” Matthew 11:28-30

“And the Lord God will wipe away tears from all faces.” Isaiah 25: 8 Check out verse 9 too.

“And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19

“As you do not know what is the way of the wind, or how the bones grow in the womb of her who is with child, So you do not know the works of God who makes everything.” Ecclesiastes 11:5

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, and he shall direct your paths.” Proverbs 3: 5,6

“The Lord will guide you continually, and satisfy your soul in drought, and strengthen your bones; You shall be like a watered garden, and like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail.” Isaiah 58:11

“Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I say, rejoice! Let your gentleness be known to all men. The Lord is at hand. Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:4-7

“Behold, God is my salvation. I will trust and not be afraid; for Yah, the Lord is my strength and song; He also has become my salvation. Therefore with joy you will draw water from the wells of salvation.” Isaiah 12:2,3

“Have you not known? Have you not heard? The everlasting God, the Lord. The Creator of the ends of the earth, Neither faints nor is weary. His understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the weak, And to those who have no might He increases strength. Even the youths shall faint and be weary, and the young men shall utterly fall. But those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles. They shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:28-31

“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed for I am your God. I will strengthen you. Yes, I will help you. I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

“Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You. In God I will praise His word. In God I have put my trust. I will not fear. What can flesh do to me?” Psalm 56:3,4

“Cast your burden on the Lord, and He shall sustain you; He shall never permit the righteous to be moved.” Psalm 55:22

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, and I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

“Strengthened with all might, according to His glorious power, for all patience and longsuffering with joy.” Colossians 1:11

“Wait on the Lord; Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the Lord!” Psalm 27:14

“The Lord is near to those who have a broken heart. And saves such as have a contrite spirit.” Psalm 34:18

Here are some more verses to check out:

Romans 8:28, Psalm 34:4,5, Jeremiah 1:5,8, Psalm 27:1, Isaiah 43:5, Proverbs 3:24,26, Lamentations 3:57, Philippians 4:13, Ephesians 6:10, 2 Thessalonians 3:3-5, Hebrews 10:36, Psalm 4:1, 1 Samuel 1:27,28, Philemon 1:12, Romans 8:16-18, John 10:27-29, 2 Corinthians 1:9, Hebrews 2:14-15, 2 Corinthians 1:3-5, John 14:1-4, Revelations 21:1-4, I Thessalonians 4:13-18, Isaiah 41:10, Psalm 27:1, Philippians 4:19, Philippians 4:6-8, Jeremiah 29:11-13, Jeremiah 17:7-8, Psalm 9:9-10, 2 Corinthians 4:16-18, Romans 8:18

 

Whatever your going through today, may you feel the peace of Jesus today. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

