Lemon-Blueberry Pound Cake

The other night I signed up to bring a sweet dessert to my girls bible study. I was trying to decide what to make as I opened our screen door and was immediately relaxed by the warm 60 degree weather. It put me in the summer mood. I didn’t want to make something too sugary but I wanted something sweet. I looked through our fridge and saw our huge thing of blueberries (we purchased from Costco), to the right of them our lemons. Weight watchers has this delicious recipe for lemon raspberry pound cake. I decided to just substitute the raspberries for the blueberries. What I love so much about this recipe is it doesn’t taste ‘healthy’ for you. As I made it, I couldn’t stop myself from licking the empty bowl. Even the batter was delicious! I’ve taken this recipe to people and they love it! I rarely bring home left overs. It has 6 PointsPlus value for 1/12 of a cake serving (when using the egg substitute-I didn’t check how many points if you make with real eggs).

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 grated lemons zest

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground allspice

6 tbsp unsalted butter, softened

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/4 cups granulated sugar

The recipe calls for 2/3 cup egg substitute I used 3 eggs instead

1/2 cup light sour cream, room temperature

1 cup fresh blueberries (raspberry, blackberries-anything berries!)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 4 1/2 x 8 1/2 inch loaf pan with nonstick spray.

Whisk 2 cups flour, grated zest of lemons, baking powder, baking soda and salt and ground allspice in bowl.

With electric mixer on medium speed, beat softened butter and vanilla 1 minute.

Gradually add sugar and beat until light and fluffy, 4 minutes.

At low-speed, gradually beat in 2/3 cup egg substitute.

Alternately add flour mixture and 1/2 cup light sour cream, beginning and ending with flour mixture, and beating just until blended.

Gently fold in fresh blueberries.

Scrape batter into pan; spread evenly.

Bake until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean, 1 hour, 10 minutes.

Cool in pan on rack 10 minutes.

Remove cake from pan and cool completely on rack.

Leave a Reply

