A Taste of Summer for Our Winter Blues

I’ve never cared for winter time. I enjoy the snow on Christmas day then I’m ready for warm weather. Now that I’m a stay at home mom I really hate the winter time. We are stuck inside with nothing to do. I looked through my fridge needing to bake something yummy. Then quickly remember weight watchers and how I need to get out of my funk and back on track. I love to bake but feel guilty afterwards when eating it. So my husband suggested making something he’d eat-that way I get my baking fix out of the way but he gets to enjoy something I really wouldn’t make for myself. Scrolling through my thousands of pins on Pinterest for sweets I came across this beauty: Blueberry Lemon Bars. It was perfect! It helped ease our winter blues for one moment as the sweet tastes of blueberry & lemon carried us away. My husband absolutely loved it! I thought he was going to pass out from pure food ecstasy! Photo and Recipe from Lick the Bowl Good, check it out for more great recipes!

For the crust:
  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbsBlue5
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • Zest of one lemon
For the filling:
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 1 (14 ounce can) sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray an 8×8 inch baking dish with cooking spray. Set aside.
In a medium bowl, combine the graham cracker crumbs, melted butter, sugar, and lemon zest. Stir until graham cracker crumbs are moist. Press crumbs firmly into the bottom and slightly up the sides of prepared pan. Bake the graham cracker crust for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool to room temperature.
To make the filling, combine the egg yolks and condensed milk in a medium bowl. Stir in the lemon juice and lemon zest. Stir until mixture is smooth and begins to slightly thicken. Gently fold in the 3/4 of the blueberries, reserving some for the top.
Pour the lemon blueberry filling evenly over the graham cracker crust then top with the remaining blueberries. Bake for 15 minutes, or until just set.
Cool for 10 minutes at room temperature, then refrigerate until completely chilled. Cut into bars and serve.
Leave a Reply

