Happy Valentines Day 2013

Valentines Day has always just been another day. In high school my friends and I would call it Singles Awareness day, and we’d get each other gifts. Usually candy. Then when my husband entered the scene, Valentines day was still another day but we still liked to do something special for each other. Our first Valentines day together (2006) I had him over for dinner, I made lasagna. He brought me a beautiful bouquet of roses and chocolate covered strawberries. The

1207b092ec6514142dedf83bc60c07ab

second year we ordered pizza and continued the tradition of staying in for dinner then we started going out after to see a movie. Then one year I made him pancakes and we ate by candle light. It was so simple yet romantic. Last year, Sweet Baby was only two months old and can’t even remember if we did anything. I think we went to the mall but other than that, it was any other day.  Oh and nursing every three hours. Now this year as Valentines day is here I find it being more than just a day. I think its being a stay at home mom, I desire an excuse to get out of sweatpants and put some make up on. To do my hair and go out and  spend time with my husband. Dwell in the moments that remind of us of pre baby days. Yes its hard to imagine. Wear something nice without fear of it getting drool or soggy graham crackers on my clothes. But this year we don’t have any plans-life has been a little crazy right now (I had my gallbladder removed 3 weeks ago). My husband isn’t a planner and I knew that. Looks like we’ll be staying in and having dinner once Sweet Baby is down. I had made italian gravy last night so maybe we’ll have that for dinner or I enjoy eating pancakes by candle light with a glass of wine. Today I’ll make Strawberry Chocolate Chip Cake Mix cookies (recipe to come in the next few days) for dessert. I’m looking forward to spending the day with my two favorite boys who have stolen my heart. Happy Valentines day to you and yours.

“A kiss is a lovely trick designed by nature to stop speech when words become superfluous.”

-Ingrid Bergman

xoxo

 

PS here is a Healthy Valentine’s Day Survival Guide by Dr. Sears. It’s ok to treat yourself but if you do it too much you come to expect it.

Leave a comment