Vegetables of Kings

I know I don’t feed Sweet Baby enough veggies. He mostly eats: avocados, bananas, sweet potatoes and butternut squash. Sometimes I purchase frozen peas or green beans and cook those for him. I know I need to feed him more veggies. Like carrots, spinach and recently discovered I can give him asparagus. I love asparagus. I love it baked with olive oil, salt & garlic. Hmmm yummy. But I didn’t know if that would be the best way to serve it to Sweet Baby. Gotta love the internet. I can come to it with my questions and bam! I have answers. I searched, ‘how to make asparagus into baby food.’ I found a great website with a few ideas on how to make some yummy recipes. But the simplest way was to steam them then puree them. That was easy enough. I had purchased the thin ones so they were steamed in like 3 minutes. If they are thicker, steam them for 8 minutes. I mixed my asparagus with some fruit so I wouldn’t completely shock his system. 😉 He loved them. His first bite he did look at me funny. Then he smiled and gave his approval, ‘geee’ sound. I made it a second time but I didn’t have the right asparagus/fruit mixture because he didn’t want to eat it. Asparagus is very high in anti-oxidants and also a particularly rich source of folate. You’ll probably remember being urged to take folic acid supplements (the synthetic form of folate) during pregnancy, because it helps protect against birth defects. But folate continues to be good for your baby as it promotes heart health and helps the body both produce and maintain new cells.Asparagus also helps maintain a healthy gut. This is because it contains inulin, a substance that it is not digested and moves to the large intestine, where it provides food for all the ‘good’ bacteria living there! This helps the ‘good’ bacteria grow and flourish, promoting a healthy digestive system. What’s more, asparagus – which offers protection against serious conditions like heart disease and cancer and contains many vitamins!

Check out this website for some more yummy baby food recipes using asparagus, Homemade Baby Food Recipes

Leave a Reply

