Quesadilla Casserole

I love Mexican food. I could live off chips and salsa (if I weren’t on weight watchers and chips weren’t high in points!). This is my favorite, go-to meal for my family. Its a great meat free dish-but feel free to add some chicken or ground beef! It’s perfect to make a head of time then pop in the oven when ready. Like last night, I put it together while Sweet Baby was napping around 3:00 then put it in the oven at 5:45 when hubby was on his way home from work. It’s from Rachel Ray but I’ve added a few changes to make it my own. I double the black beans and corn. She said this is a good dish and that its good for you! But according to weight watchers, its too many points! 11 Points a serving (if recipe doubled-if made as below its 21 points). 
 
Quesadilla Casserole
Ingredients
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 3/4 cup chopped onion (I add a couple of cloves of garlic)
  • 1 29-ounce can black beans, drained, 1/2 cup liquid reserved
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen corn kernels, thawed
  • 1/2 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley (I use fresh cilantro instead of parsley)
  • 5 10-inch flour tortillas
  • 8 ounces Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
  • 1 cup store-bought green enchilada sauce (last night anciently I used red enchilada sauce-it was still yummy)
  • I put a can of diced jalapeno because I like spice!! 
Yields: Serves 4
 
Preparation
Preheat oven to 400˚F.
In a skillet, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the onion and cook for 5 minutes (Its best to put the oil, onion and garlic in the pan then turn it on. To heat all the ingredients at once infuse the flavor!) . Add 1/2 the beans and mash into a chunky paste. Stir in the reserved liquid.
Grease a heavy, ovenproof skillet. In a bowl, combine the corn, parsley and remaining black beans. Place a tortilla in the skillet and spread with 1/3 cup of the mashed black bean mixture. Top with 2/3 cup corn-bean mixture and 1/2 cup cheese. Press to compress the layers. Repeat with the remaining tortillas, mashed black beans, corn-bean mixture and cheese.
Bake until cheese is melted and the casserole is heated through, about 30 minutes. Transfer to the broiler and cook for 1 minute. Serve with the enchilada sauce.
Leave a Reply

