Clogged Milk Ducts

I pretty much stopped nursing Sweet Baby cold turkey. I didn’t continue pumping either. I didn’t want my body to think it still needed to produce milk. I was fine until a day later. My breasts ached, I felt like they were going to fall off they hurt so bad. Then the next morning I rocked Sweet Baby to sleep. I couldn’t find it in myself to put him down, so we rocked the whole 2 hour nap. Then as I started to move my left breast just ached. I then found a round ball. As I pressed it, it hurt like crazy. A clogged duct! (What is a clogged duct?)  I had gone my whole breastfeeding journey without one. I started to worry them remembered what our birthing coach had taught us. She said to nurse through a clogged duct. Nurse first on the side with the clogged duct, when their suck is the strongest. Also the baby’s chin is the strongest part of the suction (does that make sense ??). So wherever the clogged duct is have the baby’s chin facing that direction. So we nursed in football hold. I was so glad when Sweet Baby happily obliged to helping me get rid of this clogged duct. It was very painful to nurse but I caught it fast enough that he was able to fully drain the duct. I spoke with a lactation consultant she suggested to pump or self express for just a minute to relive the pain (like when engorged) or every 3-4 hours. Especially in the morning. But when I woke up this morning I don’t feel full, they feel empty. But I did do some massages in the hot shower this morning. I found this blog today and it had many helpful points for when weaning (nursing or pumping). Check it out! Naptime Tales 
xo xo
Leave a Reply

