What’s for Dinner?

20121028-124805.jpg

It’s that time of year for my favorite soup. This has been my favorite soup since I can remember. I usually double the recipe so it lasts awhile. The recipe calls for ham but I always do Jeannie O turkey ham. I usually use a whole 5lb bag when doubling it. I like it spicy so I use a a ton of pepper & cayenne. Below is the regular recipe.
Ham, Corn & Potato Chowder

Ingredients
5 medium potatoe-1 lb
1/3 cup minced onion
2 tbsp butter or margarine
1 1/2 cups milk
1 pkg lean ham, cut into small pieces
1 can cream of chicken
1 can cream-style corn
1 tsp salt
1/8 tsp black pepper
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

Preparation
1.) Cover unpeeled potatoes with salted water an cook, and cook until tender.
2.) Remove potato skins, cut potatoes into small chunks.
3.) In large skillet or 2 quart saucepan melt butter. Sauté onion for about 5 minutes.
4.) add milk, ham, cream of chicken & potatoes
5.) Cook over medium low heat about 20 minutes. Stir occasionally.
6.) Add cream corn, salt & pepper
7.) Bring to boiling. Reduce heat. Simmer 20 minutes. Taste to see if more spices are needed. Add cheese.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

