Infantile Esotropia

Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, For I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Isaiah 41:10

Sweet Baby had his visit with a ped ophthalmologist last week. The eye doctor said Sweet Baby has Infantile Esotropia. Esotropia is an inward turning of one or both eyes. Infantile esotropia begins at birth or during the first year of life. (it’s also refered to as congenital esotropia). It occurs when the part of the brain that controls the ability to use the eyes together does not form perfectly. He also has astigmatism. It still amazes me that they can see that in a 10 month old! The treatment she wants to start with his giving him glasses. We ordered those yesterday, he gives a new meaning to Baby Einstein. He looks beyond adorable in them! When this doctor told me Sweet Baby had this,  she didn’t tell me that is common in children. The Physical therapist we have been seeing, has worked with children before. She has some exercises we could work on him with. It’s a total God thing!

 

No one ever wants to hear something is wrong with their baby. And it has been an emotional process since Friday. Fear, sadness is the main thing I’ve been feeling. Fear that he may need eye surgery if the glasses don’t correct it. Sadness that Sweet Baby isn’t doing the things the babies his age are doing. But despite these feelings I remind myself that God is 100% in control. He knew everything about Sweet Baby as he knit him together in my womb. This doesn’t mean Sweet Baby isn’t any less perfect or any less a gift from God. We just need to take this (everything, his eyes, his development delays), one day at a time! The verse above has been what gets me through the days when I feel overwhelmed-with anything in life!

xo xo

Leave a Reply

