Banana Bread

Having Sweet Baby-just kids in general makes a quick trip to the bakery next to impossible. Turn to this homemade treat to start your day off right.

5 ripe bananas, mashed
3/4 cup oil
4 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
6 tbs milk
2 culls all-purpose flour
1cup whole wheat flour
2 cups sugar
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt

Mix together bananas, oil & eggs. Add vanilla & milk. Sift & add flours, sugar, baking soda & salt. Pour into lightly greased loaf pans or lined muffin pans & bake at 325 degrees F. For two loaves, bake for 75 minutes; for muffins 25 minutes, for mini muffins 15 minutes. After muffins & loaves have cooled, freeze uncovered on baking trays. Once frozen, seal in freezer bags. To serve, thaw in microwave or reheat in oven.

[tip] A two-stage freezing process ensures the tops of loaves and muffins don’t stick to the inside of the bags.

I got this recipe from pregnancy & newborn magazine.
I like to make a few changes: I add cinnamon & nutmeg. I use whole milk and I substitute melted butter instead of oil (I know so unhealthy). I don’t use whole wheat flour either. This is a very yummy recipe-I never freeze any because it goes so fast. I make 24 muffins and a loaf of bread. I like to add chocolate chips to the muffins. It’s a nice little treat for when I crave chocolate but don’t want to give in to candy. I also like adding walnuts in sometimes.

Leave a Reply

